WPI Mathematical Problems in Industry

MPI Home
About MPI
Registration
Program
Location
Lodging
Photos
Participants

© 2008 CIMS
 

About MPI

MPI is a problem solving workshop that attracts leading applied mathematicians and scientists from universities, industry, and national laboratories. During the workshop, engineers and scientists from industry interact with the academic participants on problems of interest to their companies. In the past, these problems have included, but are not limited to

  • engineering and product design
  • process design and control
  • environmental remediation
  • scheduling and optimization
  • financial modeling

The challenge facing business and industry is to prosper in an era of rapid technological growth. Meeting the challenge requires continually improving productivity, resource management, and innovation, both to refine existing products and processes and to create new ones.

The MPI workshop is a resource that offers

  • clarification and formulation of a proposed or existing process
  • methods to solve problems of interest to industry
  • links with applied mathematicians and scientists from universities and national laboratories
  • access to advanced computing solutions and environments
  • fresh input of new ideas

Industry representatives who are interested in submitting a problem to the workshop should first contact a member of the MPI 2008 Organizing Committee to discuss the suitability of the problem. The best results are achieved when the proposed problem is discussed and refined prior to the workshop.

Registration Fees

There is no registration fee for this workshop!

Also this year there will be no fee for presenting a problem! and there is support industrial representatives presenting problems. This is a change from recent previous years and is made possible through the support of the National Science Foundation.

2008 Organizing Committee

Joseph D. Fehribach WPI Mathematical Sciences Bach@Math.WPI.edu
Bogdan Vernescu WPI Mathematical Sciences Vernescu@Math.WPI.edu
Suzanne L. Weekes WPI Mathematical Sciences Sweekes@Math.WPI.edu
Burt Tilley Olin College of Engineering Burt.Tilley@Olin.edu
Donald Schwendeman RPI Mathematical Sciences Schwed@RPI.edu
Peter R. Kramer RPI Mathematical Sciences KrameP@RPI.edu
Richard Braun Univ. of Delaware Mathematics Edwards@Math.UDel.edu
David A. Edwards Univ. of Delaware Mathematics Braun@Math.UDel.edu
Louis F. Rossi Univ. of Delaware Mathematics Rossi@Math.UDel.edu


WPI [Math] Back Top

Last Changed: Thursday, 19-Aug-2010 15:43:35 EDT
cims@wpi.edu